Home » Uncategorized » 100 days…tick. What now?

100 days…tick. What now?

Today I have 100 sober days. Triple digits…I am overjoyed!

When I joined Team 100 and made the pledge not to drink for 100 days.  I wasn’t sure that I could do it. But there was something about committing for only a certain number of days that comforted me. I wanted to stop drinking and I loved the “anything but forever” feel it had to it. I could do that. It’s not for life. It’s a long time but no one was making me promise to never, ever drink again.

That’s the most overwhelming step to face when you know you have a drinking problem. The terrifying thought that if you tell someone how awful are, what a mess you’ve gotten into, then they will make you promise to change your ways forever and you will be forced into a lifelong booze ban that you don’t feel ready for. Well, that’s not the case here. I felt absolutely no pressure to do anything other than attempt the challenge and keep trying until I got there. Lucky for me, I got there on my first try. This was by no means my first try at getting sober. I’ve had many failed attempts!!

I promised myself that I wouldn’t think about what would happen after the 100 days, it really takes the pressure off. I have learned so much, gathered many sober tools. New coping strategies have been adopted and I have done a lot of work on understanding my behaviour when it comes to emotions and escapism.

What I have learned is that I have much still to learn. I am a work in progress and while I sometimes find the recovery side of things a bit boring, flat and not my kind of party, I am reaping the benefits enough to want to continue growing and learning.

I am so grateful to Belle and all of the Team 100 members. Today I have had so many wonderful messages of support and encouragement and a beautiful card from my husband saying how proud he is of me! I have had the BEST day. I am suffering bout of the Imposter Syndrome, as I am so overwhelmed by Belle’s post and Lily’s post. I am sure they must be talking about someone else!!

I have no plans to drink, I am going to do another 100 days and stick around to watch all of my team mates reach and pass their goals so that I can give back the support and praise that I have received.

Team 100 is awesome, being sober rocks!!

C xx

7 thoughts on “100 days…tick. What now?

  1. So happy to read this 🙂

    And, as if often the case, you have said exactly how I feel. This TOTALLY sums up how I feel: “I am a work in progress and while I sometimes find the recovery side of things a bit boring, flat and not my kind of party, I am reaping the benefits enough to want to continue growing and learning.”

    Yep, tick, tick. Yes, sometimes I find it boring and ‘not me’ (I spent so many years being a party girl it’s not surprising sobriety doesn’t quite fit yet) and… and yet… there is a gentle but lovely growth and change occurring that I don’t want to lose for a few (eight) glasses of wine. Wine that will give me at best a fleeting sense of fun, escape and euphoria and then right back downwards into the pit.

    So, I’m sticking here with you instead. Can’t wait to see what happens next.

    xoxo

  2. What a wonderful thing to read tonight. I am so very happy for you. Awesome. You are certainly on this path of rejuvenation and are reaping the rewards of a sober life. You probably don’t see it, but you are no doubt inspiring others with your story. Keep it going. Congrats on your 100 days!!

    Blessings,
    Paul

  3. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!! I love this bit best “I am a work in progress and while I sometimes find the recovery side of things a bit boring, flat and not my kind of party, I am reaping the benefits enough to want to continue growing and learning.” That so sums it up for us. Even the celebrations are a bit low key because.. well lets be honest, they’re sober celebrations…no champagne for us, no sir-ee.. but hey, you could get a new dress! Or a very fancy scented candle! So great and keep going you’ll see how much better it gets… Wonderful. Love to you xxxx

  4. Congratulations on your 100+ days! I definitely remember that fear of quitting forever. How would I get through each night, parties, vacations, and other imaginary challenges? What a relief it was, though, once I also gave up the hangovers and the secrets and shame. It still feels a surprise gift that being sober leaves me more whole and happy than before.

    Congrats again on your milestone and may you continue to find peace and happiness in future ones.

Leave a Reply

